Discovery Park of America Selects Linda Lu Harding as 2023 Volunteer of the Year

Feb. 20, 2023

Union City, Tenn. – Discovery Park of America announced Linda Lu Stone Harding has been selected as the 2023 Volunteer of the Year during a Volunteer Appreciation Luncheon at Blake’s Southern Milling in Martin. Harding, who was born in and has lived in Union City all her life, has been volunteering for more than five years at the museum and heritage park.

When working at Discovery Park, Harding can frequently be found at the information table helping guests plan their day or making recommendations about other attractions, hotels or restaurants that are in the area.

“Volunteering at Discovery Park is such a wonderful and rewarding experience,” Harding said. “I meet people from all over the world, and hopefully make their experience in our region even better. It’s also always fun to run across people when I travel who mention Discovery Park. I’m always proud to say, ‘I work there.’”

On an average year, Discovery Park has around 30 active volunteers who perform duties in the museum, on the grounds, as craftspeople and in advisory roles.

“A robust volunteer program is one of the best indicators of a healthy non-profit museum,” said Scott Williams, Discovery Park’s president and CEO. “All of us at Discovery Park are so grateful to our volunteers like Linda who enhance our visitors’ experiences in so many ways.”

Discovery Park will host two information sessions on the volunteer program on Monday, March 6 at 10 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. in the Tennessee Room. Many different volunteer opportunities exist currently, and duties can be tailored to meet individuals’ passions and interests. To sign up for the session or for more information, please email Samantha Simbeck at

Photo Caption: Discovery Park’s 2023 Volunteer of the Year, Linda Lu Harding

Photo caption: Discovery Park’s 2023 Volunteer of the Year, Linda Lu Harding, along with fellow volunteers and Discovery Park staff. (seated, l to r) Linda Lu Harding, Cherry Pyron and Kathy Davis (standing, l to r) David Hill, Russell Orr, Samantha Simbeck, Alice Fennel, Emalee Buttrey, Sue Ellen Morris and Scott Williams.

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.